X-raid

Desert, sand, gravel, mud, heat, cold, altitudes of more than 3,500 metres above sea level – and all this combined with not a lot of sleep in a bivouac were the noise never dies, while being pressed for time and nevertheless having to do a perfect job. What sounds like a nightmare for some is just the daily routine for the X-raid team during the two Dakar weeks. For X-raid, this event is the highlight of the year. The Dakar Rally is the goal the entire team has been working for throughout the year. And so, X-raid again and again succeeds in advancing to new dimensions –not only through technology but also with passion and commitment.

With the vehicles designed and built in Trebur, X-raid secured four consecutive Dakar wins and a total of 10 world-cup titles. In addition to these triumphs, X-raid impressed with another outstanding achievement: In the past five years, nearly all MINI ALL4 Racing pairings made it to the finish line. In 2014, for instance, every one of the 11 MINI ALL4 Racing vehicles. crossed the finish line at Valparaiso, Chile. In several sleepless nights the team even rebuilt cars that seemingly weren’t repairable. It didn’t matter if the car was 30th or battling it out at the front end of the grid.

From the beginning, Sven Quandt and X-raid wanted to enhance themselves and their cars challenge their competitors with new ideas and concepts.  After the foundation, in 2002, Sven Quandt was the first to contest the Dakar with a team relying on a German car at the Dakar 2003.The BMW X5 already featured the new twin-turbo technology that was not publicly launched until later, at the Geneva Motor Show. 

In 2005, the BMW X5 was replaced by the BMW X3 that helped X-raid winning several World Cup titles. The next big step was the introduction of the MINI ALL4 Racing at the Dakar 2011 after a construction time of only a few weeks. This rally car did not only capture the emotions of the fans but also stepped into a new dimension of serviceability. The outer body shell could be disassembled in just four minutes, thus making working on other parts or replacing them far easier. In the 2014 season, X-raid engineers and partners jointly succeeded in moving two of the spare wheels from the rear to the area below driver and navigator, hence making for a clearly lower centre of gravity.

This year X-raid again starts into a new era. After six years with the MINI ALL4 Racing, which provided the team from Trebur with four Dakar wins and five World Cup titles, X-raid will now attack with the new MINI John Cooper Works Rally.

X-raid

Wüste, Sand, Schotter, Steine, Schlamm, Regen, Hitze, Kälte, Höhen über 3.500 Meter - dazu wenig Schlaf in einem ständigem lauten Biwak, Zeitdruck und dennoch perfektes Arbeiten. Was für manche nach einem Alptraum klingt, ist für das X-raid Team bei der Rallye Dakar für rund 14 Tage Alltag. Für X-raid ist sie das Highlight des Jahres. Die Dakar ist das Ziel, auf das alle im Team das ganze Jahr über hinarbeiten! So schafft es X-raid immer wieder in neue Dimensionen vorzustoßen – nicht nur mit Technik, sondern mit Leidenschaft und Einsatzbereitschaft.

Mit den in Trebur entwickelten und gebauten Fahrzeugen hat X-raid vier Dakar-Siege in Folge und insgesamt zehn Weltcup-Titel eingefahren. Neben den Erfolgen gelang X-raid noch eine weitere enorme Leistung. In den vergangenen fünf Jahren erreichten fast alle MINI ALL4 Racing bei der Dakar das Ziel. So kamen 2014 alle elf gestarteten MINI ALL4 Racing im chilenischen Valparaiso an. In einigen schlaflosen Nächten baute das Team auch scheinbar unreparierbare Fahrzeuge wieder auf. Dabei ist es egal, um der Pilot um Spitzenpositionen kämpft oder auf Platz 30 liegt.

Von Anfang an wollten Sven Quandt und X-raid sich und ihre Fahrzeuge weiterentwickeln und sich mit neuen Ideen und Konzepten der Konkurrenz stellen. So trat Sven Quandt nach der Gründung   2002 als erstes deutsches Team mit einer deutschen Marke bei der Dakar 2003 an. Im BMW X5 war damals die neue Twin-Turbo-Technologie verbaut, die erst später beim Automobilsalon in Genf vorgestellt wurde.

Auf den BMW X5 folgte 2005 der BMW X3, mit dem X-raid sich mehrere Weltcup-Titel sicherte. Den nächsten großen Schritt wagte X-raid 2010 als innerhalb nur weniger Wochen der MINI ALL4 Racing aus der Taufe gehoben wurde und bei der Dakar 2011 sein Debüt feierte. Dieses Rallyefahrzeug erzeugte nicht nur mehr Emotionen bei den Fans, sondern war auch im Bereich der Servicefreundlichkeit in einer neuen Dimension angelangt. Innerhalb weniger Minuten können die Mechaniker die Außenhaut abbauen und damit viele Teile einfacher erreichen. In der Saison 2014 gelang es den Ingenieuren in Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Partnern, zwei der drei Ersatzräder aus dem Heck des MINI in den Bereich unter der Crew zu verlegen und damit den Schwerpunkt erheblich zu senken.

In diesem Jahr beginnt für X-raid wieder eine neue Ära. Nach sechs Jahren mit dem MINI ALL4 Racing, der für  vier Siege bei der Rallye Dakar und fünf Weltcup-Titel sorgte, greift das Team aus Trebur nun mit dem MINI John Cooper Works Rally an.